1358 Sokolčí Castle was probably founded by Jindřich of Velešín and Michalovice, after losing his share of Velešín Castle. Although no founding charters have been preserved, the counterfeits of Oldřich II of Rožmberk, which relate to the year 1264 and are supposed to confirm the ownership claims of Vok of Rožmberk granted by King Přemysl Otakar II, are interesting.
From 17 September 1333 there comes another document from the same counterfeit workshop, based on which King John of Luxembourg gave Vok of Rožmberk the castles Příběnice and Sokolčí. These documents point to the great interest of Oldřich of Rožmberk in the castle, although it remains unclear whether this was still a functioning dominion.
The Rožmberks finally succeeded in capturing the castles of Sokolčí, Pořešín, and Louzek. Almost two hundred years after it was established (1541), the first documents exist that testify to an abandoned castle. Archaeological findings show that there was fire.
The layout of the Sokolčí castle was two-part. In front of the main castle there was a wider bailey spread out, the front of which was secured by a moat and a rampart. The core of the castle was concealed behind the second moat, broken into the rock. On the northeast corner there stood a tall square tower with connected fortifications that contained battlements. Another, four-sided defense tower stood above the southeast corner.
You can explore fragments of the tower, palas, and fortification walls. Enjoy a view over the beautiful countryside and over the river valley and its surroundings. The massive granite wall now serves as a climbing wall and is equipped with securing rings and bolts.
Tel: +43 (0)50/7263-31